Valley Vet Supply
CALL TOLL FREE! 800-419-9524
Equine Tack SuppliesPet SuppliesFarm & RanchApparelPharmacyGoat SuppliesBrooksideValley NaturalsGift IdeasClearance


Request a Free print catalog.



Product Testimonials
Contoured Swayback Tacky Too Saddle Pad

Continue Shopping

29 of 30 people found the following testimonial helpful.
He loves it!
Posted By: HB Palomino (HUNTINGTN BCH, CA) Mar 30, 2011

This pad has made my life so much easier. For the last several years I was shimming my pads to keep the saddle from bridging although my horse is not what I would call swaybacked. My horse would develop small soft swellings on his spine if it was not adjusted just right. Many other pads seemed to be too narrow down the gullet which I knew from experience would be a problem for him. This pad has caused not one bit of swelling and provides ample room for his spine. He used to worry about being saddled and that seems to have also gone away. I worried about ordering a pad without seeing and touching it, but I was quite pleased with this one.
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

22 of 22 people found the following testimonial helpful.
Great pad!
Posted By: Wendy8888 (OKEECHOBEE, FL) Nov 28, 2010

I bought one of these for my daughter's mare, 14hh little quarter horse, a couple of years ago because she just seemed uncomfortable or in outright pain with every pad/saddle combo we used. She's not swaybacked but she does have high withers and her topline is not well muscled as she is cold backed. Today on a whim, I decided to try it out with my mare own who is 14.3hh and stocky, high withers. I have used all kinds of shims and pads over the years to accomodate my 3 saddles to her, all with substandard success. I am happy to say I have just now purchased a 2nd pad for my own mare! It worked perfectly, filled in a little bit of bridging and balanced out the whole saddle from front to back, while still leaving shoulder clearance. I only wish I had bought a 2nd one sooner! Also, hope to see them in different colors eventually. Until then, I'll use my red and black saddle blanket over the pad.
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

28 of 28 people found the following testimonial helpful.
AWESOME PAD!
Posted By: heather028 (Gilroy, CA) Nov 5, 2010

This pad works great. I have a 14.3HH older swayback QH and this pad works wonderfully on him. It bridges the gap and makes the ride comfortable for him and myself. It's a durable pad and I've been riding in it regularly for a couple of years - I ride in it so much I could probably use a new one but with the amount of riding I have done I'm impressed that is has held up so well, thanks for a great product. The only thing is that I wish Valley Vet offered a plain black one. Perfect pad, get one for you swayback, they will thank you for it!
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

29 of 29 people found the following testimonial helpful.
Must have!!!
Posted By: Andrea (OLATHE, CO) Mar 9, 2010

I have had this pad for a year now and it is great!! Having tried many pads for a high withered horse this is by far superior!!! It is totally worth the money! Makes saddle fit perfectly and horse comfortable.
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

34 of 34 people found the following testimonial helpful.
swayback pad
Posted By: happy rider r. toth (HAMPTON, NJ) Sep 6, 2009

Thank you! I was going to buy a new saddle because my saddle kept slipping especially when my Morgan spooked. It was getting dangerous and frustrating. I notice he bridged under the saddle so I thought I'd give this one last try. I wanted to use it a bit before I made a comment and after several rides including a 3 hour sweaty ride today when my boy spooked hard at the end of the ride everything (including me) was still perpendicular to the ground. The sweat pattern under the saddle pad is now even and my boy no longer seems annoyed at the pinching of his withers. I'm sure the tacky back has helped also. Only regret is that the same saddle pad isn't offered in more colors. We could not be happier, many thanks!
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

39 of 39 people found the following testimonial helpful.
JUST WHAT I HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR!!!
Posted By: horsey (PALMDALE, CA) Aug 5, 2009

This pad is perfect, it is just what I have been looking for to fill in the "bridging" on my aged appendix gelding's back. Other saddle pads weren't working for him and making his wither and loin/hip areas sore. This pad provides the support he needed. This pad is also very durable and well-made. Much better looking color pattern in person than in the picture. I highly recomend this pad to anyone who has an older horse with either a swayback or high withers or both.
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

34 of 34 people found the following testimonial helpful.
Great pad!
Posted By: Horsewoman20 (HUNTINGTOWN, MD) Jul 1, 2009

I finally found the perfect saddle pad for my 20 year old mare. I tried all kinds of pads but this it the only pad the does what I needed it to do. No more dry spots under her saddle. She was starting to kick out or turn around to try to bite when being tacked up until I used this pad several times and now she knows she isn't going to be in pain anymore when she's ridden. GREAT PRODUCT!
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

62 of 63 people found the following testimonial helpful.
Yeller Horse
Posted By: LMorris (TAMASSEE, SC) Apr 7, 2008

I recently purchased a Tacky Too Swayback pad for my hard-to-fit horse. I am thrilled to say it worked beautifully. My horse has prominent withers & a slight roach back. Everything i tried--pads, multiple pads with and without a riser pad, did not work for my horse. I was thrilled to find this pad and after reading the reviews, i figured I'd give it a shot. It's the best thing that happened for me & my horse. I can tell a big difference in the way he rides. Thanks Reinsmen People for making it! And thanks Valley vet for selling it! LMorris Upstate SC
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

67 of 68 people found the following testimonial helpful.
Fits my TB/QH better than any other pad
Posted By: Paul S. (Wharton, TX) Nov 10, 2007

I've just purchased a TB/QH cross gelding with prominent withers, but without a swayback. I tried three or four of my good pads on this horse and all of them bridged across the horse's back in varying degrees. When I rode the horse with my best fitting pad, he was nervous and uncomfortable. After reading the other reviews for the Countoured Swayback Tacky Too pad I purchased one, and there was an immediate difference in my horse on our next ride. He was relaxed and seemed much more willing to listed to my aids. Before it was difficult to get him to slow to a walk, and now he's very willing to walk calmly ahead. It seems like a very well made pad too. Thanks for developing this innovative pad!
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

91 of 92 people found the following testimonial helpful.
What a great pad, not just for
Posted By: tdrabek (EL CAMPO, TX) Sep 24, 2007

Finally! I had long wondered why no one made a pad like this! Like one of the other testimonials on this pad the horse I bought this pad for is NOT swayback but rather he has really high set withers with some dishing to each side of them...most every saddle I ride him in will cause pressure points in these dished areas. Even my treeless saddle would settle into them on long rides. He's a very broad big horse (16.1, 1200 lbs) so a saddle that would fit up over the withers wouldn't be the correct fit over the rest of him, not allowing his shoulders to move freely. But a wider treed saddle would not fit correctly over his withers. I tried shims and extra padding with limited success. I tried other pads such as the air ride pads that had a special built up area in front but most were still far to thin, and I needed a much thicker built up area. This pad does! This pad worked great to help me with my hard to fit horse! I can use a wide treed saddle on him to allow him the shoulder movement he needs/wants but it fills those dished areas above his shoulders which keeps the saddle from sliding back. Plus it also helps give the saddle nice clearance over his withers. I recommended it to my sister with two high withered TB's and she too was thrilled. It also works really well with my treeless saddle since it provides good support and has the spine relief channel. To top it off I was really glad to find it's a very durable well made pad too!
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

133 of 134 people found the following testimonial helpful.
Fill in those sways :0)
Posted By: D. Mengon (New Plymouth, ID) Mar 18, 2007

I coach a Special Olympics Equestrain team and several of our horses have sway backs, we have stacked pads, bought bridge inserts and several other things to try and deal with this problem with older horses. Of course when you use a lot of pads to fill in hte gap all you really do is succed in making the saddle roll, the bridge pads I bought would eventually work there way out from behind the saddle. Well I am pleased to say that the Contoured Swayback Tacky Too pad is fabulous. I bought one to give it a try and will be purchasing 7 more because it worked so well. It is nice to see the manufactures realizing that there is a huge market for senior equine products and hopefully they will keep developing newer and more innovative products.
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

112 of 113 people found the following testimonial helpful.
It's about time someone came up w/ this idea!
Posted By: OTTB rider (Yucaipa, CA) Mar 18, 2007

I bought this pad for my extremely hard to fit TB because every saddle I tried on her seemed to bridge. She is NOT swaybacked but I just couldn't seem to find a saddle that didn't poke her in the shoulders and loins. The saddle fit issue was starting to get pretty depressing b/c she is a nervous wreck when she is in pain and kind of scary, too. SO, i bought a saddle that was pretty close to fitting her and this pad and *poof* I have an awesome, mellow, trail horse! I can not sing praises high enough for this pad! It is a life-saver. The quality is very good, it's a nice heavy-duty pad, the contour part for the withers is a little short but OK, and the tacky bottom is pretty sticky. It is worth every penny!
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?
E-mail Promotions Orders Your Account Quick Order Customer Service Help Security View Cart