Valley Vet Supply
CALL TOLL FREE! 800-419-9524
Equine Tack SuppliesPet SuppliesFarm & RanchApparelPharmacyGoat SuppliesBrooksideValley NaturalsGift IdeasClearance


Request a Free print catalog.


SSL Provider Information

Product Testimonials
The Dare Cribbing Control Collar

Continue Shopping

6 of 7 people found the following testimonial helpful.
Amazing Collar! A Must Have for a Cribber!
Posted By: sugarock1977 (GILMER, TX) Apr 20, 2013

My new rescue horse is a wind sucker. I researched different collars and purchased this one. It started working as soon as I put it on! It prevents Veracho from getting the gulps of air he's wanting, so he just stopped. I've had it for a few weeks now and it hasn't rubbed at all! Its very loose when his head is down to eat or drink. It gets tighter when he lifts his head, but not tight enough to prevent air. If the first owner would have started using this 5 years ago it would have saved him teeth! But better late then never!!!
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

5 of 5 people found the following testimonial helpful.
The Dare Cribbing Control Collar is Great
Posted By: siggy (GLOUCESTER, VA) Feb 17, 2013

Works great. Used Miracle Collar before and had to tighten it so hard the horse had sores even with the fleece. Therefore I stopped using the Miracle Cribbing Collar. This collar not rubbing or chafing the horse will not crib and works great! 5 stars
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

6 of 6 people found the following testimonial helpful.
The Dare Cribbing Control Collar Works Great
Posted By: SmokenBensMom (Gainesville, FL) Jan 30, 2013

I became the new owner of a wonderful horse that has a cribbing issue. I had never been exposed to this before and was worried about the health issues associated with it. Asking around the Dare collar was recommended especially by my vet. It has worked great in dissuading my gelding from cribbing. He'll still try occaisionally, but the collar prevents the "payoff" and he gives up quickly. Things I would want to share with others is that you really have to put it on tightly to work. Being that the collar is leather, like any new leather product, it will stretch some as it is used, so you do have to continue to monitor and tighten in the first few weeks of wear. You can punch holes in between the existing ones to get a good tight fit. It has not rubbed any sore spots on my gelding which I am very vigilant in looking for since it is tight. Overall , I'm very happy with this product.
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

10 of 11 people found the following testimonial helpful.
Finally, A Cribbing Collar That Works
Posted By: M. EISENBERG (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Sep 10, 2012

This is a fantastic product. My horse has cribbed for 14 years, and nothing worked. I have used The Dare Cribbing Control Collar since April 2012 and now no cribbing when it is on. Also, no chaffing or sores; no bald spots. He does not mind it at all and it is tough enough that the other horses leave it alone in the pasture.
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

15 of 15 people found the following testimonial helpful.
The Dare Cribbing Control Collar...AWESOME, AWESOME PRODUCT!
Posted By: horseygal (ANTELOPE, CA) Aug 29, 2012

Wow! What an awesome invention! My horse has been a chronic cribber for about nine years. He even ended up having colic surgery, which I think was related to his cribbing. After reading all the great reviews for this product, I still had to see it to believe it. I can't imagine my horse NOT cribbing! I went ahead and bought it to give it a try. My horse has not cribbed since this collar has been on! It is so fantastic, I had to write to tell all the horse folks that have cribbers to buy this collar. I love the fact that the collar looks very comfortable. It does not have to be tight like the Miracle Collar (which doesn't work at all for my horse). I worried that the collar would turn because it's only one strap, but I've never seen it out of place. Let your horse wear this comfortable collar. He'll be much happier wearing it rather than the other collars, and he will be healthier because he won't crib. Liked it so much, I bought a second one just because....
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

40 of 41 people found the following testimonial helpful.
The Dare Cribbing Control Collar Really Stopped The cribbing habit!
Posted By: sagerider (Carson City, NV) Feb 28, 2012

I've waited to write this review so I could give the Dare Cribbing Collar a fair evaluation based on several months worth of observation. I had never encountered this behavioral vice in a horse until I was given a young (5 year old) Quarter Horse gelding who had been rescued from an intolerable situation. My hope was that I could provide him with a stress free environment in which he wouldn't find the need to crib. Good feed, turnout, and a classical training program did help his mind, but I soon learned that cribbing is an addiction that he could not overcome. I tried various anti-crib paints to no avail; he would taste the nasty stuff and be deterred for a day or so, but after awhile he would start licking the paint and then happily crib away! Even during feeding he would suddenly stop in mid chew, grab a rail and suck air, leading up to 3 colic events. My vet suggested I try out a collar, noting that committed cribbers are often able to continue their habit in spite of wearing one. After reading many reviews of different collar types, I decided to splurge on the Dare collar. That was last June, nearly 8 months ago, and what a difference it has made! Sure, my boy was unhappy the first few weeks, glum that he couldn't partake of his habit, and as soon as I would take it off he would almost immediately start cribbing. I learned right away that I had it too loose; I actually had to punch a new hole halfway between 2 on one side: it was just a wee bit too tight or too loose until I added a hole. Eight months later I've loosened it one hole (due to thick winter coat) and he still isn't cribbing. He now goes in turnout without the collar (of course I also take it off when he's working)and makes no attempt at all to crib. Nor does he crib when tied at the hitching rail, which used to be the case, and again, this is when he is NOT wearing the collar. He's gained weight, and is healthier and happier than ever. There has been no rubbing, irritation or sore spots. Very well made with nice,supple, high quality leather and buckles. Easy on and off, and many friends have noted that it doesn't appear to be uncomfortable for him. I'm very pleased with the Dare collar and highly recommend it. And thank you to all who wrote previous reviews - it was very helpful to read what other folks had to say about this product.
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

21 of 21 people found the following testimonial helpful.
Fantastic cribbing collar!
Posted By: FadingTwilight (LEBANON, OH) Feb 9, 2012

I have a 21 y/o QH who has been a wind sucker for his entire life. His top teeth are almost completely worn down to the gums from cribbing... I've dealt with other collars on various horses, and never liked how tight you had to make them. I looked at various products and reviews, and was really pleased at what I found on the dare collar. So I took the plunge and purchased this one as an attempt to lessen the amount of his cribbing... All I can really say is WOW!!! What a difference it has made! I keep the collar on the 2nd hole on each side, and that keeps it decently "tight" when he tries to crib. I could raise it a hole on one side, however that would make it tighter than I am comfortable with. At this setting, he can still crib if he REALLY tries, but it deters most of his attempts. As a lifelong cribber, this is all I can really ask for!! I have to leave the collar on 24/7 as he will stand and crib during turnout instead of eating grass like he should. I do take it off when we ride (of course!), and will give him 'breaks' from it for a few days at a time. The collar has rubbed at the top of his poll (slight scabbing, but no 'cuts' or bleeding of any kind, and they don't bother him at all), but I think this is mainly because of him having to wear it all the time. I do not think this would be such an issue if it was only worn in the stall. I'm currently on the search for a good sheepskin cover that will fit the leather strap. I think this well help TREMENDOUSLY on the rubbing. I've left the collar in the tack room for a couple of weeks now to let the rubs heal up so I can put it back on him in time for spring. Cribbing collars are a necessary evil with my guy, and this sure does the trick. I am extremely grateful to have found a product that I do not have to practically strangle my guy with in order to be effective. Thank you Dare Cribbing Collar!!!!
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

17 of 17 people found the following testimonial helpful.
The Dare Cribbing Control Collar...LOVE THIS PRODUCT
Posted By: D. MAHOY (EUSTIS, FL) Jan 28, 2012

My 5 year old gelding started cribbing about 2yrs.ago and I have tried the two strap collar which every few weeks I was running it to be fixed because it would break. Also he was very good at cribbing with the collar on. I decided to order the DARE collar hoping I would not be wasting more money. It has been on my horse for the last 4 months and there has been not problems with the collar and he is no longer cribbing. I am so very happy that I took a chance on this wonderful product, Thank You Schutz Brothers and Valley Vet.
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

23 of 23 people found the following testimonial helpful.
Works like a charm!
Posted By: Ohiogal (MIDDLETOWN, OH) Nov 4, 2011

Received this 3 days ago, switched from the Miracle Collar that rubbed and my horse breathed a sigh of relief. It doesn't have to be tight, hangs freely most of the time and only works when they try to crib. Wonderful product! I'm ordering as second one as a backup when I need to clean the first one. Product quality is outstanding - very heavy duty latigo and stitching.
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

21 of 21 people found the following testimonial helpful.
Amazing!!
Posted By: C. Spence (Elgin, TX) Sep 9, 2011

This collar is amazing. I have a mare who was an obsessive cribber; all day, all night, wouldn't eat or sleep, just 24/7 glued to the fence. Tried every other collar nothing worked! I put this one one her and she never even tried again!! Only thing I don't like is the leather is so heavy duty I'm afraid if she gets hung up on something it would not break. Wish it had a break-away fuse or something...other than that, absolutely amazing!!!
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

24 of 25 people found the following testimonial helpful.
Great product!!!
Posted By: SandyofTx (LEONA, TX) Feb 7, 2011

I have tried every cribbing collar out there...and this one seems to be doing the trick! I have a gelding who has been a cribber for the last 10 years, and I have tried every collar on him, but he always goes back to cribbing. My mare picked up this terrible habit after watching him, and nothing worked on her either. This collar is well built, and works! I did have to adjust it several times before the cribbing stopped, I had it too loose at first. Once I got it set right, NO CRIBBING! Thanks so much!
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

36 of 37 people found the following testimonial helpful.
The best cribbing collar ever!
Posted By: Thoroughbred Mom (MEDIA, PA) Jun 24, 2010

I bought this collar because the Miracle Collar rubbed so badly that my horse developed an abcess on his neck. It was the best purchase ever! I recommend this product to anyone that has a cribber. My Thoroughbred wears it 24/7 and it has never rubbed, & even stays put when he rolls! Thank you Rusty Dare!
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

37 of 38 people found the following testimonial helpful.
THIS PRODUCT IS AMAZING
Posted By: crookske (Chesterfield, MI) Apr 26, 2010

My horse is 15 years old and for the four years I have owned him he has been a compulsive cribber. It was like a bad smoking habit and other collars only seemed to lessen it. I actually punched more holes in my miracle collar to tighten it more and at first my horse wouldn't be able to crib but he would figure it out. Now with the dare collar it is impossible for my horse to crib, there is no annoying front strap, and it doesn't have to cut off the circulation to his head to be able to work. Great product and I would recommend this product to anyone who has a problem with a cribber.
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

45 of 46 people found the following testimonial helpful.
Yipee
Posted By: CJ (PORT ST LUCIE, FL) Apr 6, 2010

We all know if we need this product we have a severe problem. This is the only cribbing collar that seems to be comfortable for my horse. He is a chronic cribber to the point where I tried the teeth ringing which only worked till he built up the strength to crib with those rings in his teeth. (that is like a pig ring in the nose or a pierced ear with a small hoop earring) My horse wears this collar 24/7 and when I take it off I just scratch him up really nice and he enjoys the rub and scratch and he has no soar places like the other collars caused. It does not have to be too tight to work and he does not mind it put back on. In my experience with this chronic cribber of mine this has so far been the best solution for us. I highly recommend trying this collar you will be glad you did.
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

37 of 38 people found the following testimonial helpful.
It works!
Posted By: Non-believer (ELIZABETH, CO) Mar 23, 2010

After reading MANY reviews of this collar, I bought one to replace my horse's Miracle Collar, which was rubbing badly. I have tried every cribbing collar/strap available, and the only one that had even slowed my horse's cribbing was the Miracle Collar. I was very skeptical about this product, but decided to give it a try, as I wanted my horse to be as comfortable as possible without allowing him to crib. I was pleasantly surprised to see that the Dare collar worked! It is much looser than my horse's old collar, too. Very well made product and a great design.
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

64 of 67 people found the following testimonial helpful.
Great Cribbing Collar!
Posted By: Horsenharmony (ROCK HILL, SC) Mar 20, 2010

This is a great cribbing collar! I purchased this collar a couple of months ago for my 4yr Walking horse gelding. We have used every kind of cribbing collar, from the nut cracker to the Miracle collar and have had issues or break through cribbing. The Miracle collar worked except it rubbed my gelding even with the fleece added to it and the other types of collars did nothing to stop his cribbing. From day one of fitting the Dare collar he has not cribbed. So far it has not rubbed him and is a lot easier to fit. I highly reccomend this collar to anyone who has a active cribber. It will stop the cribbing but not at the horses discomfort!
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

50 of 50 people found the following testimonial helpful.
HIghly recommend this collar!
Posted By: happypainthorsemom (VAIL, AZ) Mar 19, 2010

When I bought my gelding back,I discovered he had developed a cribbing habit during the 2 1/2 years that he had been away from me. He was sent back to me with a popular cribbing collar, which not only didn't work but had a front strap which would fall down over his eyes unless it were so tight with his head upright that it was almost pinching. I bought the Rusty Dare collar and not only does it stop him from cribbing 100%, he doesn't mind wearing it and actually will drop his head for me to put it back on after our rides. I can turn him out without worrying about him getting it caught on something and it does not require any fleece covering because it does not rub. I cannot say enough good things about the Rusty Dare collar. My gelding had a couple of mild colic episodes while wearing the other collar because he would "crib through" it. He has not had a single episode since wearing this collar.
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?
E-mail Promotions Orders Your Account Quick Order Customer Service Help Security View Cart