Valley Vet Supply
CALL TOLL FREE! 800-419-9524
Equine Tack SuppliesPet SuppliesFarm & RanchApparelPharmacyGoat SuppliesBrooksideValley NaturalsGift IdeasClearance


Request a Free print catalog.



Product Testimonials
Bed Sore Hoof Boot

Continue Shopping

Bed Sore Hoof Boot Professional's Choice
Promotion Available
$25.95   
5 of 7 people found the following testimonial helpful.
Good Product for Horses That Don't Tear Them Off!
Posted By: HasBeen (Norman, OK) Jan 23, 2012

My horse had a small bed sore so I bought these boots after reading the reviews. They lasted less than 1-week. My horse tore one boot off, ripping a hole in the material and tearing off the velcro. I used the other boot on the leg with the small bedsore, then sewed a patch and velcro on the damaged boot. My horse destroyed the second boot beyond repair. Then the first boot was destroyed after I'd wasted my time with repairs. So I bought bell boots and placed them upside down (read that hint in another review). My horse destroyed them too, tearing off velcro and tooth prints in the rubber. I guess he'll have to suffer now, unless I decide to try spraying bell boots with something nasty-tasting (but he'd probably bite them off anyway). This was a frustrating experiment with a horse that pays far too much attention to himself when he could be eating or napping like all the other horses :/
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

8 of 8 people found the following testimonial helpful.
Bed Sore Boots Really Work!
Posted By: J. BRANNEN (PIONEERTOWN, CA) Aug 16, 2011

The bedsore boots REALLY WORK! We ordered the bed sore boots for our big quarter horse mix gelding in June. I did not have real hope that they would solve our problem. We spent the last 3 summers doctoring and bandaging his front legs several times a day because there were deep sores on both of them and the flies were eating him up. AT first I did not believe that his rolling caused this huge problem. Fly wraps did not help because they were too stiff and rubbed the sore spots making them even worse,even when we wrapped them with guaze and vet wrap first. We were so frustrated and concerned about him. Then we found these boots in your catalogue. THEY ARE WONDERFUL!! Nice and soft and sturdy. His legs healed up with salve and bandaging under the boots at first. In 2 weeks his legs were all furry and good as new. He wears the boots full time and he is so much happer. So are we!! I highly recommend you try them if you have this problem.
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

8 of 9 people found the following testimonial helpful.
Best Bed Sore Boot!!!
Posted By: Pony Club Mom (Santa Rosa, CA) Apr 2, 2010

Thank you for the super fast service. These boots are terrific - great fit. Our horse doesn't mind wearing them and they really do the trick for bed sores. This is the third pair that I have purchased. Very happy customer.
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

9 of 9 people found the following testimonial helpful.
Can't Believe No One Told Me About These Boots
Posted By: Susan Krivacek (SAN MIGUEL, CA) Nov 2, 2009

When my horse started getting sores on his front fetlocks, I asked my vet and he told me to use upside down bell boots. These were torn off every night. Then I started wrapping with pads and vet wrap every night. After a couple of weeks taking dirty wraps off and applying clean ones, I was getting tired quickly. Then I tried putting leg protectors on every night, but these got ripped too. I happened to be on my Valley Vet website ordering Devils Claw for one of my other horses and accidently ran across these boots. They worked great and the sores are all healed up. Also, my young, destructive horse didn't pull them off or rip them. I've used them since Sept. and they are still in perfect condition, even after several machine washings. Thank you Professional Choice!
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

12 of 12 people found the following testimonial helpful.
Miracle Boots!
Posted By: L. J. Carey (GRAND ISLAND, NY) Nov 19, 2008

These boots are exactly what I was looking for with one of my Thoroughbreds! I tried everything to heal & prevent him from re-injuring himself when he slips on the brick floors in the isle or the rubber mat in his stall, even though he has plenty of shavings. He's 16.2 and they fit great. I ordered 2 pairs and throw them in the washer to clean. I recommend taking them off for turnouts,riding or working your horse, because they will slip around alittle and they shouldn't be on 24/7. I'm ordering 2 more pairs today. My next wish is knee boots for the above reasons for the above horse (hint hint)!
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

13 of 15 people found the following testimonial helpful.
Nice product...however...
Posted By: tuffypaint (MONUMENT, CO) Sep 4, 2008

My horse isn't narcoleptic, but he doesn't lay down often enought to get his deep sleep. When he falls asleep, he just buckles over on his front pasterns. He was also banging them on the lower bar of our corral panels. This was making a line of sores across them. I've had the these boots for two weeks. (Note: they are sold as a pair, not singly). They seem to be helping as far as preventing the continuation of more sores; however, everyday, I have to take them off and pick out dirt, sawdust shavings, hay, etc. that sticks to the fleece lining on the inside of the boots and on the velcro closures. The package doesn't indicate how to thoroughly clean them...I'm assuming I'd have to hand wash them. NOTICE TO MANUFACTURER: I think these boots would be better if they didn't have the fleece lining...just neoprene. Also, if you don't get them snug enough, they slip around. I haven't seen anything else on the market for this, although I have a friend who put plain bell boots (upside down) on her horse and said that works just as well. Hmmmm?
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

11 of 11 people found the following testimonial helpful.
Bed Sore Boots
Posted By: V. WRIGHT (St Charles, IL) Mar 5, 2008

I purchased these boots to protect sores on my horses front legs. They fit my 15.3 hand horse perfectly and go on with ease. I would have liked if the inside of the boot would have been of a non stick nature. My mare had open sores and the soft lining in this boot stuck to the sore removing the scab when the boot was removed. I resolved this by vet wraping her until the injury was dry and no long stuck to the inside of the boot. I thought a non stick covering would have been nice. Other then that I am extemely pleased with these boots and will advise anyone with a need to purchase them.
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

21 of 21 people found the following testimonial helpful.
BEST BOOTS EVER
Posted By: H.C. (CHOWCHILLA, CA) Dec 28, 2007

I have a are who has a bedded stall at all times. no matter how fluffy i tried to keep her stall, she still managed to get big bedsore on the front of her fetlocks. She would then become very sore, and i wouldn't be able to ride her. I tried bandages, but they always seemed to come off, or she'd infest them with shavings or other foreign objects. So i bought these boots for her and her hock sores went away in days. she liked the soft fuzzy sheepskin on the inside. If the bots got dirty, then i just washed them and hung them on the fence to dry. BY FAR THE BEST BOOTS I'VE EVER HAD FOR BEDSORES. A MUST FOR YOUR SORE HORSE!!!!!
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

14 of 14 people found the following testimonial helpful.
Bed Sore Boots
Posted By: M. COLE (LARKSPUR, CO) Nov 29, 2007

I have used these boots on my horse for several years and my vet has recommended them to other clients. I do wish that they came in a larger size as the velcro straps just barely secure them on a large horse (16.3, 1300Lbs)
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?

23 of 23 people found the following testimonial helpful.
Bed Sore Boots
Posted By: R. SABOL (Elizabeth, PA) May 21, 2007

My horse has narcolepsy and falls down alot causing huge sores on his legs. This particular boot is the best I have found. It wraps around the leg better and covers more area of the fetlock. I would highly recommend these to anyone who is looking for a solution to horses who constantly have leg wounds just standing in their stalls.
 
Did you find this testimonial useful?
E-mail Promotions Orders Your Account Quick Order Customer Service Help Security View Cart